Christmas Gift Ideas for Any Writer

Haven’t written anything for a while–my apologies for those upset by this. For those who couldn’t care a lick…um, I take the apology back :P. I thought I’d return with a vengeance with something a little different: clever Christmas gift ideas for writers…since it is, after all, the time to start shopping.

  1. Color Your Stories, by Elizabeth Bank

    Color Your Stories, by Elizabeth Bank

    Adult Coloring Books: I’ll start with the item that gave me the idea for this blog. Coloring books for adults. Yeah, it’s a recent phenomenon that’s picking up steam, apparently. Personally, I’d recommend these two, and yes she’s a friend, but she’s also incredibly talented, so I can vouch for it being a good product. Any fiction author knows that much of writing is plotting, and what better way to untangle those pesky plot knots than giving your mind a mindless, yet engaging mental distraction to spur creativity?

  2. Aqua Notes: I don’t know about you, but most of my great ideas come in the shower, making this a perfect product for me.
  3. Audible Membership: The best way to become a better writer, they say, is to read a lot. Audible lets you download audio
    Aqua Notes

    Aqua Notes

    books, magazines and newspapers to your smartphone, tablet, computer and many other devices that play audio.

  4. Stephen King’s On Writing: Those who’ve followed my blog know how much of a King fan I am. I realize that not everyone’s a fan of his genre, but this book isn’t genre-specific. It’s also one of the few books I’ve run across that gives great writing advice while being a page-turner–regardless of whatever genre fascinates you. Check out On Writing.
  5. Stephen King, On Writing

    Stephen King, On Writing

    Fingerless Gloves: When it’s cold, it’s tough to type. Fingerless gloves are a handy tool for any writer.

So there you have it. Some fun Christmas gift ideas that would suit any novelist. Really, to be ahead of the curb for Christmas shopping, I would have had to put this out there last June…to be ready for the 2016 Christmas holiday, but this is as good as it gets. I’m not a fan of giving writers cutesy/impractical things, like mugs (Ugh. Mugs are the worst gift you can give anyone. Who doesn’t have 5,000 mugs they have to dispose of each year), but these sorts of gifts are practical for any writer and–while some might be on the cutesy side–they will get used.

Best of luck braving the crowds this season for those who dare venture out to the malls. If you’re like me, though, you stick to online shopping. It’s much safer.

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

