Goodbye to Authonomy

AuthonomyVery strange. I just discovered that the first part of this entire post didn’t copy onto the page. Weird, but probably for the better. My comments were mostly why the site failed in the end, that Autho kind of did it to themselves when they poured a bunch of money into this new revamp, but ignored every one of their main users’ requests, even after those users were beating down doors to get their points across.

And now onward to the part of the post that did make it :).

But alas, I didn’t write this post simply to bash Authonomy. My frustration comes from my love for the site. To see it hacked up into a shell of itself was hard for me, and so maybe it’s best that it Auth-Black-RGBgoes defunct.

Onward to happier things. I’m looking for a good online writing community, one to help motivate me to keep at it. I’m peeking at a few, but right now I’ve settled on Penguin-hosted Book Country. Seems like a great place and comes recommended.

Phil's journey to the ED.

Phil’s journey to the ED.

Sadly, it’s hard to get reviews. They take away the competition of it, which is good in some ways and minimizes trolling, but I think they need to insert more motivation for people to give reviews, perhaps have reviewer stats/ratings/awards or what not. In fact, I think I’ll suggest it.

But I digress. Anyone have any other recommendations? Where do you go for writing community? What are the pros and cons of the site? Why do you like it over others?

Many thanks in advance as well as a *raises glass* cheers to Authonomy. Yeh will be missed.

 

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Goodbye to Authonomy

  1. Kira Morgana says:

    I get most of my writing community from Facebook – all of the friends I made on Webook are there, the friends I have made on Autho are there and I’ve made a lot of new friends through connections with cover artists and in writing groups on FB itself.

  2. I joined Authonomy because I had finished (ha ha) a manuscript and wanted feedback. The feedback wasn’t always the quality I sought–got a few real head-scratchers–but when it was good, it was exceptionally good. When I made the desk, I got a terse, impatient review with exactly one idea for improvement, instead of the quality thought promised by HC in their pitch. But I read some terrific work and made some valued friends. I haven’t visited the site in ages, but I’m sorry to see it go.

    • Sorry your review wasn’t helpful, Audrey. Yeah, when people made their reviews public, I almost always read them. From that, it was very clear that it all depended on “who you drew” from their pool of editors. Some reviews were fantastic! Mine, in particular, was VERY helpful and, while it was mostly what I suspected, it was exactly what I needed to hear at the time and with some great insight on how to get “unstuck.” But other reviews I read seemed more like brush overs, which is really too bad.

  3. debjbennett says:

    Wasn’t the same after the revamp, was it? Tastelessly garish and impossible to navigate. I never really want back after that. Facebook now for me, though I maintain a presence over at BookCountry.

    • The revamp was terrible and it was kind of a slap in the face that they asked for all this feedback, the feedback seemed overwhelmingly consistent about a lot of key things, and then they proceeded in ignoring ALL of it. It was like they were trying to disassociate with the current audience they had and make it something completely different. I’m still convinced this is, in fact, what the intent was–perhaps a last-ditch effort to stand on their own two feet. It was a disaster, IMO. They alienated the audience they had and didn’t really attract enough of a new audience to make it work.

      I kind of sound bitter, I know, but it’s really because I had SUCH a great time at Autho. It really had something going and it’s hard to see it end like this.

      Kay Serra Serra, or however you spell it :P.

  4. Lidy says:

    Hey Phil, I’m going to miss Authonomy too. I haven’t visited the sight on a regular basis and my visits practically became nonexistent after the revamp. Still I’m sad to see it go. As for recommendations, I’m on Scribophile and Book Country, but I visit the former more than the latter.

    • Thanks for the tip, Lidy! 🙂

      • Lidy says:

        You’re welcome Phil. I’m also on Wattpad, where you can engage with other writers (in all stages of their writing career). But Wattpad’s more of a building reader/fan base than peer critiquing. Yet you’ll still get critiques/opinions about your story, characters, plot, etc. in the comments. There’s also YouWriteOn.com.

      • Cool! Yeah, I’m trying YouWriteOn.com, but so far I’m not impressed. Clunky navigation and I did receive one bit of feedback that was mostly useless. That can happen anywhere, but what’s frustrating is that I see no way to reply to the person. I just have questions for him/her. Will have to check out Wattpad. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

