Phil’s Author Blog Celebrates One Year

Photo Source: Katrafilmseries.com

Photo Source: Katrafilmseries.com

Today marks the one-year anniversary of this blog, which is weird because I was never certain if I’d make it past a week let alone a year. But here we are one year later, still in diapers but at least walking about with some sturdiness to our step.

Wait, what were we talking about?

Right, right…the blog’s one-year anniversary. Sad to say, I don’t have any giveaways for you—I’m far too broke—but I do appreciate all of you who check in daily, weekly, yearly or oncely (a new word I just made up. It’s my one-year blogging anniversary, so gimme a break).

I’ve made some excellent connections with good people through this blog. Heck, even had a complex grammar question come through the site just yesterday. I think I helped her out, but regardless I’m coming to like this blogging thing. To quote “Big Chris” from the movie Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels: “It’s been emotional.”

What’s next for me?

Well, I’m still working on my novel works-in-progress. With three little ones and a perfectionist attitude/curse, it’s slow-going, but I’m getting there. All feedback from those whose writing insight I respect, as well as agents who’ve bothered to give me a response say I can write—am gifted in prose and dialogue and have good fluidity and voice. Where I’m working to improve? The storytelling, which is perhaps the most important part of it. But slowly but surely I’m beginning to see it, how the puzzle pieces fit, and that’s exciting.

My book may not come out any time soon, but I pledge that when it does it will be my absolute best work (at least at the time. I hope to get better and better).

And really, isn’t that what we should all strive for?

So here’s to another year, good cheer and great friends. Thanks for dropping in now and again. You’re always welcome.

Phil

 

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Phil’s Author Blog Celebrates One Year

  1. Jane Risdon says:

    Happy first anniversary and wishing you many more. Good luck with your book…you will get there. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jane. I hope so. Wish I could just hit a button and I’d be in the middle of a montage, maybe Eye of the Tiger is playing, and I’m smiling and crying and looking all inspired and suddenly when the montage is over with I’m a brilliant novelist with several bestsellers.

      Isn’t that how it works? 😛

      • Jane Risdon says:

        Yeah right! I wish that too…the typing of it all is a pain. I know you can talk into the computer and it will type for you, but I hate the sound of my own voice!! Eye of the Tiger…wow…brings back memories of working with the same record producers and engineers who worked on the single/album and hearing the tracks in their raw state – some time after – and thinking how fab it all was. Then I managed to spend the night in the same bed as the lead singer (not at the same time – I was with hubby) and friends nearly lynching me for it…envy is a terrible emotion! Yep, we are all brilliant really, just wish someone would hurry up and make us believe it! Happy writing 🙂

  2. lol @ Jane Risdon. Sounds like there are a few stories in that musing there :P.

Leave a Reply

