Writer’s Burnout

imagesI’m not sure how it is for most of you, but for me writing is about managing the see-saw of burnout and writing focus. On the one end, when I get stuck or can’t seem to flesh something out I often need a break. Even when I feel the writing itch, sometimes my muse just isn’t there. Such has been the case the last month or two, which is one of the reasons why I haven’t been as active on this blog of late. I hope to remedy that, while continue to crank out chapters on my newest novel project, The Queen of Clubs, which has received some helpful and positive feedback on Authonomy.com of late. I plan to post it on Book Country, as well, only I’ve had some issues logging in to that site.

Anyway, to make up for my recent lack of activity, here is a song lyric I just made up :P.

Let me tell you about my favorite drink
If you’re not a fan, who cares what you think?
It isn’t whisky, vodka, rum or wine
And all that fruity stuff ain’t no favorite of mine.

I like beer. Beer is good. I wish I could have some more beer.
Oh, I like beer. Beer is good. I wish I could have some more beer.

Um, yeah, so on that note…back to writing!

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer’s Burnout

  1. Oh yes, we need breaks sometimes, don’t we? It helps keep us creative. I don’t drink beer but I’ll take another cup of coffee 🙂

    • Also, creative thinkers see their creativity come out in different ways (depending on the person). For me, I can’t sit and do one thing for too long. I go through waves of having the writing itch, then it’s guitar playing and song writing, then it’s graphic design, then other things.

Leave a Reply

