Big Deshay of the Woods Update

dark_woods_stock_1_by_venomxbaby-d3a05mcI know…the Deshay of the Woods project has taken me quite a while, but darn it I want to get it right. Querying numerous agents and receiving bits of their feedback here and there–not to mention the help from other authors, some who have been there, done that (biggest thanks to Dyane, Cecily, Noelle and Shelley, who’ve been a huge help of late in the plotting/pitch-writing department)–it’s all led me to a few conclusions.

First, there were problems with my character arc, so I’ve done some NEW revamps (I know…again). Very pleased with these.

Two, I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I’m going to have to change the title. Deshay of the Woods was published once before as an eNovella. While I’ve completely scrapped that version, there are remnants of it in places about the net and I’m hearing more and more that many agents won’t rep something that’s once been published. I’m considering several new titles at the moment–right now the winner is The Siren’s Curse. Feel free to make suggestions :).

Three, based on some iffy feedback I’ve been referring to the novel as most ideal for a YA audience. Yet the length is way long for YA and the voice is definitely more for an adult audience.

So there you go; more revelations and more work to do. I must be crazy, because I’m still enjoying myself :).

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Deshay of the Woods News, DotW Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big Deshay of the Woods Update

  1. Pingback: Writing Woes–A Day in the Life of a Novelist | Phil Partington, author page

Leave a Reply

