Celebrating Rejection Letters!

Click image to view photo source.

Click image to view photo source.

After finishing my first novel, Deshay of the Woods, and sending off a few query letters to agents (just as a start), I have officially received my first rejection! And you know what…I’m not even bummed about it. In fact, I’m pretty excited. I was expecting it, as the agent doesn’t seem to represent many fantasy novels. Moreover, when I re-checked what I had sent, I saw that the fonts were all off and there was a spelling error. Doh! Nothing like getting the rust out early.

But really, I’m not discouraged…yet. I went into this knowing it was inevitable. One of my writing buddies who I trust (you can check out Noelle’s blog here) told me she and several others put $5 in a pot and then count who ends up with the most rejections at the end of the year. The person with the most wins the pot.

So I’m not discouraged. Really. A little nuts? Well, we knew that long ago. But seriously, I’m excited to be at this point:  it means I’ve finished my novel and it means possibility. Remember, you only need one agent/publisher to say yes.

For those who are discouraged, read this article. It details many famous authors and the negative comments in rejection letters or how many times they were rejected before finding a taker. I’d also recommend checking out Colin Falconer’s blog article.

Remember, this is all part of the fun :). To quote my uncle:  “Embrace the suck.”

Cheers!

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in DotW Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Celebrating Rejection Letters!

  1. I think we all have a gallery of the rejections 🙂 You’re right to not get discouraged…. All part of the process and completely normal. I should start a gallery for mine, haha!

  2. I have not finished my novel yet. (Been trying for years.) But when I do, where do you get a list of agents who deal with fantasy writing. I’ve never researched it before, but your post just made we want to ask for future reference.

  3. Dyane says:

    Lol Love the quote.

  4. Anne W says:

    Congrats! I hear Alex Hailey got 800 rejections for Roots (probably legend – are there even 800 publishers?). I know Beethovens music teacher said he wasn’t any good as a composer. I’m finding your first chapters compelling.

Leave a Reply

