How to Write a Book in Four Drafts

This isn’t necessarily how I write a novel (I tend to plot, plot plot, then write, write write and then rewrite and edit til I’ve spent waaay too much time on it), but everyone’s different. I love the analogy and it raises an interesting question for novelists: How do YOU go about writing your novel?

This Craft Called Writing

I’ve learnt a huge amount from writing this blog. One of the most important being, ‘you’ve always got something else you can learn.’ But now I’m back to writing a first draft, I find all this information on writing techniques buzzing around my head is getting in the way.

It’s like buying a new house and trying to re-decorate everything at once. Nobody chooses the colour scheme, paints the woodwork, puts up the wallpaper, and changes the light fittings all at the same time.

Learning so many wonderful and useful things about writing craft is all well and good, but I’m beginning to feel like I’ve gone to B&Q and bought the whole shop, so now I have no idea where to start.

What I need to remember is a first draft is just that; the first draft of many. So I’ve come up with a plan and it compares…

View original post 423 more words

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Write a Book in Four Drafts

  1. Hi Phil
    Thanks so much for reblogging my post. One of the things I love about writing is that it’s different for everyone. There’re no set rules, only guide lines you can step right over if you want to.

Leave a Reply

