Revelation for Novelists

Click on photo for image original source.

Click on photo for image original source.

Has any other novelist been stuck at a certain point where everything may have appeared fine on the surface, but something didn’t quite feel right? Ever get to the point where you figured out what that thing was? It’s a great feeling. I’ll share mine, but I’d really love to hear yours in the comments if you’re willing to share them.

I’ve had a number of these kinds of revelations when writing Deshay of the Woods, but three specific ones stick out in my mind:

  1. I had realized that, even after several revamps and edits there were still chapters where I opted to over explain (telling) to move the story to the next part. Bad, bad, bad.
  2. I had realized that, while the novel series is called The Demon’s Pendant, I hadn’t completely figured out what the pendant was (I have since, and I’m very excited about it)
  3. I was writing about a bunch of characters, but still feeling out who this story was really about. Initially, it was about a MC named Matthew, but he’s bewitched for much of the tale. Then it became mostly about the villain, which wasn’t the worst thing, as the book is named after her. However, it didn’t make sense in the grand scheme of things to have the reader more sympathetic to the villain than the protagonists. I’m proud to say I know the story’s mostly about Alexandra, and that that realization came about in an organic way through the writing.

So what was your revelation for you novel?

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Deshay of the Woods News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Revelation for Novelists

  1. Pingback: Writing Revelations | Fiction Online by Ana Calin

Leave a Reply

