The Deshay Story, Part 1 of 4: Origins

Deshay of the Woods Cover Design by Phil Partington

Deshay of the Woods Cover Design by Phil Partington

(See ‘The Deshay Story’, Part 2 and Part 3)

Well, here I am. When I began my first novel project, Deshay of the Woods (cover to the right designed by yours truly), other authors who’d “been there, done that” told me it might be a good idea to start writing a blog for when I wanted to promote the book. I started one, then dropped it…started another, then dropped it again. Frankly, blogging has never really appealed to me, which is EXACTLY why you should follow this. If (when) I do keep at it, you can be certain I won’t be one of those bloggers who simply posts to post, no updates about how the sky is still blue where I am (although being a Seattle native, it’s more likely to be gray than anything else), or how I woke up today six minutes past my alarm and saw a butterfly outside…and look, here’s a picture of a cat.So yeah, none of that. Now, where to begin…and that is always the toughest part, isn’t it? The beginning?

I suppose I’ll start at the most appropriate place, the beginning. The novel I’ve been working on (well, more off and on, if we’re being honest), is titled Deshay of the Woods and was officially started in 2009. For those interested, I will be posting the whole story of how it came to be (up to this point) in a four-part (including this one) series of blogs called The Deshay Story. For those not interested, phoeey on you.

The origins and inspirations behind many of the concepts of Deshay of the Woods is of great interest to me, and therefor will at least appeal to ALL of my personalities (except you, Rex, but we both know you’re a stubborn bastard).  That’s almost a hundred readers right THERE! Boo-ya!

OK, so where were we?

Ah yes.

Origins and inspirations. Here goes:

  1. For those who’ve read any version of Deshay of the Woods, you know what a Teratalpa is. A Teratalpa is a colossal creature I created (quick…say that ten times fast!!!) that terrorizes the village. In a long, long, long time ago version of this story, which wasn’t this story at all, but eventually led to this story, there were no Teratalpa. It was a dragon. But then I thought, how many fantasy stories have dragons in them? Then I thought even more (I know! Twice in ONE day!)–if I have a dragon, I’m more or less competing with ALL those other great stories about dragons. So I scrapped the idea of a dragon and decided it’d be fun to invent a creature. Initially they were called “diggers,” but eventually I went with the more formal name of Teratalpa, which is a combination of Greek root words which means “monster of the mole.”
  2. The inspiration behind my concept of magic and the demon world was from Carl Sagan’s explanation of the fourth dimension (http://mentalfloss.com/article/20711/carl-sagan-explains-fourth-dimension)
  3. The inspiration for the Black Wolf was partly from the Hound of the Baskervilles.

And so forth. 🙂

About authorphilpartington

Phil is a writing enthusiast of many years, having been published in numerous online and national print trade and sports publications over the past decade. He has spent the past five years delving back into the world of fiction writing, focussing on the fantasy, horror and suspense genres. Deshay of the Woods is his first novel.
This entry was posted in Deshay of the Woods News, Novel Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

